Rules Serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

Maaz Irfan

Maaz Irfan Asked 9 years ago

Hi there!

  1. i want to ask that if in service the ball goes in cross is it reserved or not? IN SINGLES NOT DOUBLES.
  2. Secondly i want to ask while serving if the ball touches the white line is it reserved or not in singles?
  3. If the racket touches the table is it a foul or not
  4. while playing if we put our hand on the table for support is it a foul or not?

Looking forward for your reply


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Maaz,

In singles you can serve from anywhere on the table to anywhere.  The white line down the middle is only for the doubles serve.

The white line is in, so if the ball touches the white line it is a good serve.

The racket is allowed to touch the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  Even if your playing hand touches the table that is OK, just not your free hand.

Hope this helps you to sort out some rules and arguments.

You can also take a look at our free download of Table Tennis Rules (PDF).  This is good to keep with you.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.