Serve rules

Rules

Tim Sodelund
Tim Sodelund Asked 14 years ago

Hi! Do i have to throw the ball with the hand.

MaLin2


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Tim,

Yes you have to throw the ball up at least 16cm from your hand.

Here is the first part of the service rule.

2.06.01 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand. 
2.06.02 The server shall then project the ball near vertically upwards, without imparting spin, so that it rises at least 16cm after leaving the palm of the free hand and then falls without touching anything before being struck.  

 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Tim Sodelund

Tim Sodelund Posted 14 years ago

What a bad ask?

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.