serve rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 12 years ago

Pierre Unknown

Pierre Unknown Asked 12 years ago

Hi, I was just started playing last year, I'm 15, when you serve and say you put backspin can the ball hit the table more than once on your opponents side? and if so what happens if it comes back from his side and hits the net?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Pierre,

You certainly are allowed to serve with backspin that makes the ball bounce more than once. 

When you serve the ball it has to hit your side and then your oponent's side.  It is their responsibility to hit it after the first bounce on their side. Even if the ball spins back into the net it is still a good serve.  Your opponent still has to try and hit it after the first bounce.

It is good to try and serve the ball short and with backspin.  It can be a very effective serve for you. 

It is impressive if you can already do this skill. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.