Rules
My opponent lifts his arm with the ball in it, in a motion similar to a toss, but does not actually toss the ball, the ball remains resting in his hand. He does this in an attempt to entice the receiver to move prior to an actually serve, and be off-balance for the actual serve. He'll sometimes repeat the motion 2 or 3 times before serving the ball.
It's not clear to me whether this is a legal tactic, annoying as it may be. The distraction rule comes to mind, since it's clear he's looking to catch the receiver off guard but he doesn't seem to be breaking any service rules. Would love to hear your thoughts on this.
Hi Brian,
This would be a fault. In the rues the servce starts before the ball is tossed up.
Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand.
Therefore the serve would have started. He would be called a fault in competition.
Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:
✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match
Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.