Service Rule

Rules

Andy Chen
Andy Chen Asked 4 years ago

When preparing for a serve, does the server have to show the blade in view (above table) of the opponent?

Andy 

Sacramento, CA


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Andy,

You don’t have to show your opponent the racket before the serve. This was a rule in the past but not any longer. 


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.