Service Toss

Rules

Spike Hughes
Spike Hughes Asked 2 years ago

Hi,

I practiced against someone the other day that uses a high toss serve quite frequently. However, on occasions as the ball came down it drifted too far and he caught the ball with his non-playing hand and tossed it again. So, the question is, are you allowed to do this without losing the point or is the ball immediately deemed 'In Play' as soon as the ball is tossed and if the serve isn't completed the opponent gains the point. Many thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Spike,

In this situation it would be your point.  You are correct that the ball is in play as soon as it leaves your hand or the player starts the service action.


Recommended Video

How Long Can You Wait Between Points?

Do you ever get annoyed by how long your opponents take between points? How long are you allowed to take between points? These are the question that we will discuss and answer in this video.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.