Service Toss

Rules

Spike Hughes
Spike Hughes Asked 3 years ago

Hi,

I practiced against someone the other day that uses a high toss serve quite frequently. However, on occasions as the ball came down it drifted too far and he caught the ball with his non-playing hand and tossed it again. So, the question is, are you allowed to do this without losing the point or is the ball immediately deemed 'In Play' as soon as the ball is tossed and if the serve isn't completed the opponent gains the point. Many thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Spike,

In this situation it would be your point.  You are correct that the ball is in play as soon as it leaves your hand or the player starts the service action.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.