Serving centre line fault

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Dave Read Unknown

Dave Read Unknown Asked 13 years ago

Having served and there is a dispute as to whether the ball was in or out as regards the centre line, who has the decision?

An umpire at the side can hardly judge the centre line.


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb Answered 13 years ago

Hi Dave,

The umpire has the call even though he is on the side of the table.  The umpire often stands up or sits up higher for doubles so that he can see the middle line better.

The "official rules" do not allow for a point to be replayed if there is a dispute over whether the ball was in or out.

The middle line only applies to doubles, as in singles you can serve from anywhere to anywhere. However in doubles, you must serve from your right hand square, to your  opponents right hand  square. 

 If your opponents serve the ball and and you catch it because you think it is a fault and then your opponents dispute your call, it is the umpire who decides who to award the point to. If the umpire calls it a fault, you win the point, otherwise you lose the point. That is why it may be safer not to catch the ball but to play out the point and let the umpire make the decisions.

Of course, if it is a more friendly game, then the "official rules" could be bent and both sides could agree to replay the point. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

John Samuel

John Samuel Posted 5 years ago

Hi pingskills, 

What if the ball touches one of the poles of the net (I stress on this, not the net but the side poles of the net) and falls back on the opposite side of the table? Is it legal or the receiver is rewarded with a point straightaway? 

What if it happens while serving? Is it a re serve or a point is rewarded to the receiver?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi John,

The net posts are considered to be part of the net so if the ball touches the post and then goes in during a rally it is still in play.  And if it touches the post and then goes onto the table during a serve it is a let.


John Samuel

John Samuel Posted 5 years ago

Thank you sir, very valuable information. You always inspire me 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.