Re serve or not

Rules

Kevin k
Kevin k Asked 12 years ago

if a person serves and hits the net and goes out..do they re serve or lose a point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Kevin,

That is out and the receiver gets the point.  The ball has to hit the receivers side of the table to be a let or a re serve.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Kevin k

Kevin k Posted 12 years ago

THANKS!

 


John Samuel

John Samuel Posted 9 years ago

In case if the ball touches the net and falls on the other side of the table, how any times can it be re-served, if the action is repeated? Is it a foul if the ball touches the net for three times while serving?

In doubles, what if the ball touches the net and falls on the opposite side of the table, but it falls on the wrong side? I mean from the same court that the server is serving from...is it a re-serve or a point is straight away awarded to the receiver?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

Hi John,

You never lose a point for serving a let so they can serve as many lets in a row as they like and it is still always a let.

In doubles if the ball touches the net and then falls on the wrong half of the receivers side it is the receiving team’s point.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.