Serving from underneath the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Raresh Paunescu

Raresh Paunescu Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois,

I have a problem with a friend. When he serves,  he tosses the ball from under the table. His bat is also under the table and I can't see anything!  Is he allowed to do that??

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Raresh,,

The ball has to be above the level of the table when he is serving.

This is part of the Service Rule.  Hope it helps.

2.06.04  From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.