Serving question

Rules

Pieter Holwerda
Pieter Holwerda Asked 6 years ago

If I am preparing to serve a backhand serve, and as I bring my right hand across, my right hand hits my left hand and dislodges the ball off my palm, is this a fault?

I have not intentionally projected the ball up, nor have I swung at the ball.

Your wisdom please.

Regards

Pieter


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Pieter,

I think it would be a fault as you have started the service action even though the ball has not been projected off the hand.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.