Serving when the ball is falling

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

paul gumapac

paul gumapac Asked 8 years ago

Can u hit the ball on it s upward trajectory, after it leaves your palm? or do you have to wait for its downward trajectory?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Paul,

The ball must be falling on its downward trajectory before you are allowed to hit it for a serve.

The relevant part of the service rule is

2.06.03 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver. 

 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Shane Fanning

Shane Fanning Posted 8 years ago

Your illegal serve is really cool


Johan B

Johan B Posted 5 years ago

Has anyone ever serves around the net, as the rule explicitly allows?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Very difficult thing to do.  Hard to get enough sidespin to make it come back.  Perhaps outdoors with a bit of wind assistance wink


Johan B

Johan B Posted 5 years ago

You should hold a contest! Whoever pulls it off indoors and gets it on tape receives a pingskills t-shirt and eternal glory tongue-out


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Graeme Ireland our Rules guru, has just contacted up to let us know that the rule quoted above has been changed:

I was just looking at the Rules questions in Ask the Coach and I noticed that you quoted an old rule when answering the question on Serving when the ball is falling. All references to “over or around the net assembly” were removed last year as many people found it confusing. They only read the actual rule, not realising that “over or around” was defined earlier. The new rule is:

2.06.03                  As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver.

 

A similar change was made in several other places and the following was added under 2.10 - A Point:

2.10.01.05            if the ball, after being struck by an opponent, passes through the net or between the net and the net post or between the net and playing surface;


or' lagman

or' lagman Posted 5 years ago

Nice illegal serve



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.