Standing on the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 weeks ago

Azibalua Abadi

Azibalua Abadi Asked 2 weeks ago

Hi Coach, is it legal to step on the table while the rally is in play?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 weeks ago

Hi Azibalua,

Yes it is legal as long as you don't move the surface of the table.  So it is quite difficult to jump onto the table without moving it.

The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.

In the rules it states that:
2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point
2.10.1.11 if an opponent's free hand touches the playing surface

would be very careful standing on most tables though... Not the safest thing to do...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.