Table Tennis Rules - Changing Rackets

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 11 years ago

Peter Unknown

Peter Unknown Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois,

in our league we have a long pimple player with 5 different bats, which everyone has different rubbers. If you play against him he takes a bat for the warm up and than without saying any word, changes his bat for the match. Is this rouleconform?
And if it is allowed to change the bat after the warm up, have I to do the warm up with him or is it possible to insist on starting the match without the warm up?  

Best regards

Peter, Germany 

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Peter,

I had a look at the rules. This is the rule about changing rackets:

A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player has brought with him to the playing area or one which is handed to him in the playing area.

Hope this clears it up.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Ji-Soo Woo

Ji-Soo Woo Posted 11 years ago

Of course the key word in the rule is "accidentally".  From my understanding, if you deliberately break your racquet (like smashing it in frustration) you forfeit the match. 

But just further to the original question, is the warm up counted as part of the match?  Is it permissible to warm up with one racquet and then change when the actual match starts?  I don't know how the rules would apply, but personally it seems to me to be tantamount to cheating since during practice you are also getting a feel for the opponent's rubber.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 11 years ago

Yes, I will look into it further and get back to you. I will have to take it to 'Ask the Ref'

Charles Unknown

Charles Unknown Posted 11 years ago

I think its legal.

A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player has brought with him to the playing area or one which is handed to him in the playing area. 

 A warm up isn't a match.

I think he does this so during the match, you don't know what kind of rubber he's gonna use.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 11 years ago

I have checked with Graeme Ireland an International Referee and one of the most knowledgeable people I know on table tennis rules and regulations. This is his response.

Hi Alois,

The bad news is that the warm up period is not considered part of the match (see 3.5.1.3 "... not between the end of practice and the start of a match...") so you can change your racket between the warm up and the start of the match. It is not very sportsmanlike. However you don't have to practice before the start of the match. Players are entitled to practise for up to 2 minutes so if the opponent is known to be unsportsmanlike, have 1 hit, and say you are ready to start, and refuse to have any further practice.

Thanks Graeme.


Ji-Soo Woo

Ji-Soo Woo Posted 11 years ago

Alois

thanks for chasing it up...interesting info!

Yeah, it would be pretty unsportsmanlike...

Ji-Soo


Peter Unknown

Peter Unknown Posted 11 years ago

On a German Blog I just red, that if a player changes his racket within the warm up he is forced to inform the referee as well as the oppunent.
But I don't know if this is International Standard.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.