The impossible Table Tennis Shot

Rules

Lien Nguyen
Lien Nguyen Asked 12 years ago

Hello I have a question about this situation https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEJZsJvIN_Q which is shown in this video. Actually after he pushed the ball on the table, the ball makes only one contact. I know that it is legal if it is one contact so why does the umpire give the enemy the point. Was it the right decision or is that a rules ?

Sry for my english but I am from Germany


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Lien,

The player that falls on the floor gets the ball back on the table.  This is a good shot and the player that hit the shot that rolled on the table was awarded the point.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Aaron Lee

Aaron Lee Posted 9 years ago

Would the guy closer to the camera be able to continue the rally if he waited for the ball to roll off the right hand side of the table and then hit it around the net?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

No. I think this is counted as many bounces rather than one bounce so the rally is dead.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.