The impossible Table Tennis Shot

Rules

Lien Nguyen
Lien Nguyen Asked 12 years ago

Hello I have a question about this situation https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEJZsJvIN_Q which is shown in this video. Actually after he pushed the ball on the table, the ball makes only one contact. I know that it is legal if it is one contact so why does the umpire give the enemy the point. Was it the right decision or is that a rules ?

Sry for my english but I am from Germany


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Lien,

The player that falls on the floor gets the ball back on the table.  This is a good shot and the player that hit the shot that rolled on the table was awarded the point.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Aaron Lee

Aaron Lee Posted 10 years ago

Would the guy closer to the camera be able to continue the rally if he waited for the ball to roll off the right hand side of the table and then hit it around the net?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 10 years ago

No. I think this is counted as many bounces rather than one bounce so the rally is dead.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.