Thumping on the serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

LeangHeng IT

LeangHeng IT Asked 8 years ago

Hi Coach,

I have seen some players pounding their foot while serving to distract the opponent. Is it legal???


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi LeangHeng,

It is legal as long as they are not deliberately doing it to distract their opponent.  If it is part of their action it will usually be tolerated.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

LeangHeng IT

LeangHeng IT Posted 8 years ago

Hi coach, they do deliberately wanna distract the opponent for the amount of spin they put on the ball with the pounding sound. How can it be counted as part of action???

Refering back to Wang Liqing's serve, he really pounds his foot while serving!!!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

In a lot of cases they are playing in noisy stadiums where the sound of the ball is barely audible at times.  I think this is a fine line and a difficult rule to police.


LeangHeng IT

LeangHeng IT Posted 8 years ago

Thank you coach!!!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.