Touching playing surface in doubles

Rules

Les Edmunds
Les Edmunds Asked 10 years ago

Hello,

Would you please settle an argument I am having with some friends. I say that once the ball has left the palm of the server in doubles if the non playing hands of any of the 4 players touches the playing surface during the rally then it is a fault regardless of whose turn it is to hit the ball. Would you also advise whether this rule is relaxed if one of those players is disabled and may on occasion lose balance and lean on or touch the playing surface with his non playing hand............. Your videos and question and answer section are great.........keep up the good work.........Happy Christmas ............Les


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Les,

If anyones hand touches the table at any time during the rally it is still a point to the other player or team.

At the highest level of Paralympics, even if the player is disabled they should still not allow their free hand to touch the table.

I hope this settles the argument and hopefully in your favour!

Merry Christmas to you too.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Les Edmunds

Les Edmunds Posted 10 years ago

Thanks very much for your very quick response. It is as I thought.

All the best...........Les


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.