Where can you serve from?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Phillip Simmons

Phillip Simmons Asked 7 years ago

A friend of mine thinks that during the service you and the ball have to be within the imaginary extension of the SIDELINE.  I'm sure there is not a restriction as to where you stand as long as the ball and contact is behind the Table END LINE. Would you please answer this question. Maybe if he sees your response he will be satisfied.

Thanks, Phil


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Phil,

You are correct. The ball just has to be behind the end line or the extension of that end line.  You can serve from as wide as you want.

So Phil's friend… you should listen to him!


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Phillip Simmons

Phillip Simmons Posted 7 years ago

Thanks, Coaches for the quick response.  If your response doesn't convince him I will have to take it to the US Supreme Court.

Great fun! Thanks again.

Phil


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Let me know if I need to appear as a witness...



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.