Rules
A friend of mine thinks that during the service you and the ball have to be within the imaginary extension of the SIDELINE. I'm sure there is not a restriction as to where you stand as long as the ball and contact is behind the Table END LINE. Would you please answer this question. Maybe if he sees your response he will be satisfied.
Thanks, Phil
Hi Phil,
You are correct. The ball just has to be behind the end line or the extension of that end line. You can serve from as wide as you want.
So Phil's friend… you should listen to him!
This video lesson takes you through the essential Table Tennis rules. Watch the video and become an expert in topics such as how to win points, what score to play up to, and how to serve in doubles. There is no need to have arguments over the rules so get all your friends to watch this lesson too!
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.
Phillip Simmons Posted 11 years ago
Thanks, Coaches for the quick response. If your response doesn't convince him I will have to take it to the US Supreme Court.
Great fun! Thanks again.
Phil
Let me know if I need to appear as a witness...