Breathing on Rubber before serving

Table Tennis Equipment

Last updated 8 years ago

T K

T K Asked 8 years ago

Over the weekend I witnessed someone putting a couple of breaths on the rubber immediately before going into their service without first wiping it off, is this legal?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi T K,

The breath will usually evaporate by itself. Most players do wipe it off though to make sure there is no moisture on the bat.  It is more likely to effect the player using the bat rather than their opponent however.  They won't be bale to generate any spin if the bat is slightly damp.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.