Flick/drop shot

Rules

vinesh reddy
vinesh reddy Asked 13 years ago

Hi

i'm not that tall so i can't reach the net. so how am i supposed to return and use a drop shot or flick and is the ball considered out if it hits the pole where you assemble the net?

Thanks

 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Vinesh,

You are allowed to move around to the side of the table.  You will also find that it is really difficult for your opponent to hit the ball short enough so that the second bounce won't reach you. 

If the ball hits the net post and then goes onto the table, the ball is still in. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.