Free hand on racket

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 months ago

Mike Sotak

Mike Sotak Asked 7 months ago

Are you allowed to touch the racket with your free hand during a rally?  My son uses his free hand to get extra spin on the ball when hitting it.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 months ago

Hi Mike,

You are allowed to use your free hand on the racket.  I think it will make it more difficult ultimately to generate spin and it will also slow him down.  

If you want to beat him, let him keep doing it...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 7 months ago

It is bad idea to use the free hand like this.
It only throws him off-balance. This is not tennis.

As Alois says,the free hand only brakes the playing one.
Free hand's role is in balancing the body,am I right,Alois?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 months ago

Yep. 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.