Hiding serving hand

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 months ago

Michael Peterson

Michael Peterson Asked 6 months ago

Hi,

I was wondering if I am allowed to hide my serving hand (holding the bat) before I strike the ball for a serve? I might use different grips for different serves and don't want my opponent to know what serve I am about to do. So could I keep my hand behind me while setting up for my ball throw?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 months ago

Hi Michael,

Yes you are allowed to hide your serving hand.  There are no restrictions on this.

It can be a good strategy to disguise the serve you are doing for a little longer and give your opponent as little time as possible to gauge the serve that is coming.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.