Let Serve Rules

Rules

Enoch Oppong
Enoch Oppong Asked 13 years ago

Hi Alois

I was wondering is there such thing as a second serve.  Just say if I served the ball it hit the net and it went over will that be the other persons point do I have to serve it again.

From Enoch 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Enoch,

This is called a "Let".  You never lose a point for serving a let so even if you serve 10 lets in a row it is still a let and you need to serve again. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Enoch Oppong

Enoch Oppong Posted 13 years ago

Thanks very much

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.