Long handle on racket

Table Tennis Equipment

Last updated 4 years ago

Aaron Lin

Aaron Lin Asked 4 years ago

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bYCBo3e59nc&feature=youtu.be

Was watching Chinese amateur gameplay and came across this match... I noticed one of the player is using a very long handle on his blade. Is that legal within the rules of the game? 

If legal, why does he choose to use this longer handle? Isn't it just extra unnecessary weight? 

I noticed he is very defensive player doesn't attack at all really and mostly serves a tomahawk/punch serve similar style of serve .

I feel his style only works because their level is not high, if against a decent level would he easily be beaten? I'm not sure but it seems like that.

Thoughts?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Aaron,

It is legal, there are no regulations on the size of the bat or handle.  That is an excessively long handle.  

I think a slightly longer handle can help with reach especially for a defensive player.  I feel the handle he is using would get in the way with the handle hitting the wrist and arm during your swing.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 4 years ago

Wow,where did he get that flyswatter?



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.