Net Posts and Framework

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Peter Kuskie

Peter Kuskie Asked 8 years ago

Hi,

I was telling a member of our club about the answer to the question I asked here today about crossing over to the opponents side of the court and he told me what happened in last Wednesdays fixtures.

A player hit the ball which travelled along the top of the net before hitting the net post, dropping onto the net posts metal framework on the opponents side of the net and falling to the ground.  At no point did it hit the table surface on the opponents side - it just hit the lower net frame which extends beyond the tables surface on the opponents side.

Who's point is this?

Thank you,

Peter


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Peter,

The net post is considered part of the net.  So that would mean that the ball hasn't hit the table so it would be a point against the player hitting the ball.

Hope this clears it up.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.