Serve Time

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Mohan Reddy

Mohan Reddy Asked 4 years ago

Is there a maximum time for a serve to be delivered?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Mohan,

If you serve a let it is always a let, even if you do it 100 times in a row... probably not likely though...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

It looks like something was lost in Mohan's question, since I don't read anything about a let serve.

If the question is "what's the maximum time between the end of a point and the execution of the next serve?", then I guess we're coming back to the principle of "continuous playing", i.e. there is no "< X seconds" rule, just the general principle that you should not waste time between points by shooting the ball to the back of the court, or doing an exceedingly long pre-point routine. But it's up to the umpire's appreciation.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Thanks Jean... just my reading skills lacking a little...



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.