Serving returning automatically

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 months ago

Paul Griz

Paul Griz Asked 10 months ago

Dear Alois,

Yesterday, during a friendly match, I did a strong backspin serve.  The ball bounced once on my side, then cleared the net onto the opponent’s side very close to the net, then back over the net onto my side before my opponent could get to it. It never touched the net so will this be considered a legal serve? Never saw this happen before. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 months ago

Hi Paul,

Yes that is a legal serve and it would be your point.

Difficult to do though...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Paul Griz

Paul Griz Posted 10 months ago

Thank you so much Alois.  It was unintended and probably too risky to try during a serious match.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 10 months ago

Yep I have seen it done deliberately but it isn't always successful, even for a very advanced player.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.