Throwing the ball up with spin

Rules

Dro K
Dro K Asked 11 years ago

Is it legal to throw up the ball and put spin on it when throwing it up and then hitting the ball. My friend does this and the ball has significantly more spin.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Dro,

It is illegal to spin the ball on the throw. Here is the relevant rule:

2.06.02  The server shall then project the ball near vertically upwards, without imparting spin, so that it rises at least 16cm after leaving the palm of the free hand and then falls without touching anything before being struck. 

 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.